As a truck driver I am out here in the economic trenches. I am sure there are sectors that are more sensitive to economic tides but trucking is a good indicator of what is happening.

From where I stand I can tell you things are turning around. Companies are going from reporting quarterly losses to gains. Freight is up over last year as well as last month and quarter. A lot of trucks stopped rolling during the recession. Some permanently some just until things turn around. Because of this the uptick in freight is about to reach the current capacity to carry it. Tractor sales are up. Trailer orders are up. One manufacturer is bring back 190 employees, at least temporarily, to meet production demands.

I don’t know how fast or strong the recovery will be but it is underway.

All of the above comes from reading the Transportation Topics newsletter. http://www.ttnews.com/